About Us

St Margaret’s Community Trust was primarily formed for the refurbishment, redevelopment and extension of the old St Margaret’s Church to create a multi-purpose community centre. The primary purpose of St Margaret’s Community Trust is to provide care and support to the people living in Ward End.

This definition of care and support is broken down in our Memorandum of Association as follows:


  • Community Capacity Building

  • To advance the education of children & young people and their parents and to provide activities for them

  • Promotion of health, in particular but not exclusively by the provision of advice and information

  • To provide advice, assistance, advocacy and training to those who are unemployed or facing hardship

  • To provide and assist in the provision of facilities for recreational and other leisure time activities

  • Working with residents, the local authority, voluntary and other organisations to advance education and to provide facilities in the interests of social welfare


Over the years, St Margaret’s Community Trust has held a number of initiatives and events in partnership with local organisations including Birmingham City Council. 


Some of these events include:

  • Joint Eid and Christmas celebration event

  • Community cohesion sea side trip including sand castle competition

  • Make a Difference (MAD) Youth Project

  • Short film project raising awareness of risks of fireworks

  • Neighbourhood Forum - discussing local issues

  • Local school tours

  • Women and girls only trips

  • Tree dressing project 

  • Family Trips e.g. Drayton Manor, Blackpool, Barry Island, Rhyl

  • 'It's a Knockout' community fun day

  • Summer holiday playschemes

  • 'Bridging the Gap project' - training local young people in playwork

Our Team

Rashta Butt

Rashta Butt

Keith Wadsworth

Keith Wadsworth

Our Board

Jo Bagby : Co Chair

Ruth Donegan-Cross : Co Chair

Andrew Caswell : Secretary

Ahmad Aziz : Treasurer

Gordon Earl : Trustee

Jane Grimshaw : Trustee

Keith Grimshaw : Trustee

Jayne Grunnill : Trustee